Staff page image

The Carmel Area Wastewater District (CAWD) is an independent political entity operating under authority of the California State Health and Safety Code, Division 6, Sections 6400 through 6941.9, and as such is governed by its own five member Board of Directors who are elected, at large, for terms of four years. The District currently employs 24 full time employees. Four are in Administration, five in Collection System Maintenance, and 15 in Treatment and Disposal. [See Figure 3]

Our goal at CAWD is to leave a positive, lasting impression with all customers and vendors of the District. We accomplish this through caring and professional employees who strive to provide exceptional customer service by not only meeting, but exceeding our ratepayer’s expectations in every way possible. Our employees are the foundation of the exceptional service that we provide.

The Facility employees are available Mon – Friday between 7:00 am and 3:30 pm and are “on” 24 hour call to serve our ratepayers. Our Administrative offices are also open Mon – Friday between 8:00 am and 5:00 pm.

Staff page image

Barbara Buikema
General Manager
buikema@cawd.org

Staff page image

Drew Lander
Principal Engineer
lander@cawd.org

Staff page image

Ed Waggoner
Operations Superintendent
waggoner@cawd.org

Staff page image

Ralph Stevens
Maintenance Superintendent
stevens@cawd.org

Staff page image

Daryl Lauer
Collection Superintendent
lauer@cawd.org

Staff page image

Jim Grover
Principal Accountant

grover@cawd.org

Staff page image

Irene Bryant
Administrative Services Coordinator
bryant@cawd.org

Hours of Operation

Administration Offices
Mon – Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Treatment Plant
Mon – Friday 7:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.